Nominations open for the Heyerdahl Award

Nominations are now open for the Heyerdahl Award 2019! The prize will be presented to the winner at the Norwegian Shipowners' Associations Annual Conference 2019

The Thor Heyerdahl International Maritime Environmental Award was established in 1999 by Thor Heyerdahl (1914 -2002) and The Norwegian Shipowners’ Association.

The award recognises candidates who have made an outstanding contribution for the benefit of the maritime environment. To qualify for the award, candidates must have demonstrated exceptional technical innovation and environmental work in correspondence with Thor Heyerdahl’s spirit. Emphasis will also be placed on information work or solutions to global challenges.

Eligible candidates are legal entities, organisations and individuals worldwide. Government agencies cannot receive the award.

 All proposals will be reviewed by an expert committee.

More about the award and nominate your candidate here.